PargoNet

Reflections on Instructional Technology and Media

Conference Conversations October 5, 2006

I am on day 2 of the NCSLMA conference. I have attended several sessions at this point which discuss the use of Web 2.0 in its various implementations in K-12 Library Media Programs. No matter how many times I attend sessions like this I always learn something new – and what is so comfortingnis that, from my observations, so is everyone else – including the presenters!

For example, the last session was on using iPods in education. The presenters were sharing their experiences and when questions were posed by session attendees that they could not answer, someone in the audience would pipe up with their knowledge! This evolved into a discussion session rather than a presentation session with everyone sharing their individual experiences and ideas – the result being that I walked away with a much richer set of information to take back to my schools than if I had only had access to the info the presenters brought to the table.

And then it occurred to me – this is what Web 2.0 is all about!  David Warlick talks about telling the New Story and I have heard him “tell” this. But sometimes it takes an emersion experience really get it!

 

One Response to “Conference Conversations”

  1. Karen Perry Says:

    Absolutely web 2.0 — This conference had so much more than usual in this area. I felt I could spend several days absorbing. The different ways students can create new type of products from their research is really mind-blowing. Now to implement…


Leave a Reply

