PargoNet

Reflections on Instructional Technology and Media

Throwing Down the Gauntlet January 29, 2007

I have the privilege of serving on the Advisory Board for the NC Virtual Public School. We had our first meeting on Friday and I had the pleasure of meeting fellow edu-bloggers Dave Edwards and Joe Poletti face to face. My excitement quickly turned to good-old red-faced shame when Joe called me out on my recent blogging inactivity.

“You got off to a great start but I have been waiting for you to update!”

OK Joe – no more excuses about time. If I want my teachers, technology facilitators, and administrators to join the web 2.0 world, then I really need to set an example. I am going to set a goal of at least one post per week. It is such a good way to work through my thoughts that it can only help me think about what I do and to DO it better.

On another note, the three of us discussed trying to do a monthly podcast reflecting on hot issues in educational technology. Hopefully more to come on this…

 

5 Responses to “Throwing Down the Gauntlet”

  1. Joe Poletti Says:

    Well done, Tracy. I do think we have to live it to lead it . . . or at least just to keep up with the kids.

    I am testing the idea of using a blog environment for a school web presence. The advantages are just too compelling. It’s early in the process…but check out

    http://bridgesschool.wordpress.com

    I’m thinking I can format my boxy, Front Page school system techmedia site the same way. What would be the pro’s and con’s of such a migration?

  2. tweeks Says:

    What an interesting idea! Making your information portal a two way street – a conversation as David Warlick likes to put it. I guess the question is – do you really want the conversation? Will you moderate comments?

  3. jpoletti Says:

    I think it’s worth a shot. BTW, my aggregators are not picking up the RSS feeds from your most recent two entries. I use Sage and GR and they both see nothing beyond your entry entitled Google Reader.

  4. Joe Poletti Says:

    Revision to previous comment. My Sage aggregator does not pick up your latest two entries, but Google Reader does. Go figure!

  5. tweeks Says:

    Odd – Netvibes picks it up


Leave a Reply

