PargoNet

Reflections on Instructional Technology and Media

Adding Shelfari to my PLN April 2, 2008

David Warlick illustrated his PLN (Personal Learning Network) and really captured the concept well. Since I am currently in the Shelfari exploration mode, I wanted to investigate how I could use this web 2.0 app to expand my own PLN.

The way I find new books to read is by looking at what others are reading. This is especially true when I am looking for professional books to read, whether those are books about educational technology, ed leadership, professional learning networks, culturally proficient pedagogy, and so on. I look at what others are reading and determine if I think it could help me grow.

This brings us to Shelfari. You can create a group and make it public or private. You and any other members of the group can add books from your own shelf to the group shelf. This way you can create a collaborative library. How cool is that!

In my school district, the school and district leaders are constantly reading new books each year in various categories. Wouldn’t it be great if we could share the books we found beneficial with one another and be able to go to a single URL to access it?

OK – I need to help me grow as an instructional technology leader. I have created a public group in Shelfari – Ed Tech Reads – I want you to join the group and add any books from your shelf that are related to instructional technology so that we can all expand our PLNs.

 

One Response to “Adding Shelfari to my PLN”

  1. I just found Shelfari from Scott McLeod’s blog which has a link to yous site… the only problem I have with Shelfari is all of the ads… I am not sure I am going to send learners in my schools if they are going to be hit with all of those ads.

    Sure, I appreciate lurking at what is on your bookshelf (and seeing familiar titles!), but I am not sure this provides anything I can’t get through dialog with established FaceBook friends. I am also note sure this is any better than scouring the references of a book book.

    Thanks for an interesting blog.

    — gary


Leave a Reply

